…in case you were wondering.


Conspiracy?
September 25, 2006, 3:58 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t really know what to think, but today I found this.

I don’t really know where to stand on this stuff, but there have been several times throughout history where it seems that the government has “covered up” something. My problem is the fact that I don’t entirely trust the government, and I don’t believe the “conspiracy theorists”. Where do you stand? What is your take on that video?

Here is something else I found today.

“If you live in the United States, you might be surprised at just how many people around the world believe that the CIA was behind September 11. Although the usual suspects (David Icke and the like) began concocting the usual fairy tales within hours of the event, the global conspiracy machine has really kicked into overdrive since.
The CIA theory is most popular in France. Within a month of the September 11 attack, French author Thierry Meyssan began promulgating a theory that culminated in the book titled L’Effroyable imposture, or the which roughly translates as “Appalling Fraud.” It was called 9/11: The Big Lie in its American edition.

Meyssan, who is not a journalist no matter how hard he tries, was drawn to the case when he noticed that the images of the jet that crashed into the Pentagon just didn’t look right. It’s unclear how he reached this conclusion, since a jet had never crashed into the Pentagon before, leaving no comparative basis for a proper evaluation. His theory was based primarily on the fact that you couldn’t see the wreckage of the plane anywhere.”

Read More

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i think the allure of consiracy is just raising questions. i don’t trust the government any more than i trust a complete stranger, but that doesn’t mean that i trust any wacko that decides to put together a theory and a bunch of photos either. it’s just fun to think about the possibility, but at the same time if i could find out the depth of cover up and dishonesty of the U.S. government i would love to know how many millions of ways they screw the people etc. but since i don’t have access to the necassary files, or the acctual drive/ time to devote to the search i will have to relly on the slightly crazy conspiracy theorists.
it is indeed a dilema.
is it our responsability to find out the true depth of corruption of our government and expose it and be called wackos or to back our government like good little clones?

Comment by jimmy pop

The same people who say the CIA/Bush administration orchestrated 9-11 say that the threat of Islamic terror is vastly overblown, or even a neo-conservative fantasy. Many such “critics of the administration” would have us believe that our greatest concern is to figure out why radical Muslims hate us so much…and then try to make them like us, by whatever giveaway is necessary. But they will never like us; they will only laugh, and try even harder to kill us.

And I have a hard time believing that Bush-Cheney-Rumsfeld are such utterly cold-blooded Machiavellians, willing to sacrifice 3,000-plus innocent civilians for oil, or American hegemony, or whatever – and radical Muslims are just misunderstood devotees of the religion of peace.

Comment by Jordan

What if the United States didn’t plan the entire thing but was aware of the threat? Is that a possibility?

Comment by Brody Harper

It may be a possibility, but we have to define “aware.” Were they aware the attack was imminent? Did they know when, where and by whom? This recalls the old “we failed to connect the dots” lament.

For instance, as the 9-11 Commission found, many individual intelligence agents had suspicions, especially about Saudi guys getting flight lessons for take-offs (not landings).

The problem was the incompetence of, and mandated lack of communication between, our intelligence agencies.

As far as who is to blame for their massive failure, there’s room for debate.

I just don’t think we knew enough — definitively — to stop 9-11.

Comment by Jordan

i think any topic that gets jordan this excited and brings him out of the woodwork is good because how else are we going to know he’s alive?

Comment by jimmy pop

Jordan. (and any one else)

I’m curious of your thoughts on this.

Comment by Brody Harper

Haha, I hear you, J-Peg.

OK Brody, I’ll bite on this one, too. I’m a little skeptical that a building as important as the WTC would have its security systems down for that long, with no backup. Just think of the opportunities for massive pillaging, electronic and otherwise. And engineers, etc., still had free access to the towers? And no major news organization has discovered this? I don’t buy it.

(And can they be a little more professional and specific with their references? “Google these terms for more information…”)

Comment by Jordan

Ok, I hear you on the “professionalism” (google this for more info) thing. I thought that was a little weird too. The problem I have with it (and I’m not saying that I buy in to all this stuff) is the fact that it seems like everything that CNN isn’t reporting is automatically labeled a “conspiracy” and gets “reported” on by WING TV. What is that? I have never heard of that either.

The problem with stuff like this, as well as stuff like J.F.K. is we may never know all the details. I once heard (again, I don’t know if it is true) that the only 2 American Presidents that were not Free Masons were Abraham Lincoln and John F. Kennedy. There is no way to know if that is true or not. If it is, something is very wrong.

If it’s true that “whatever” hit the Pentagon was not the plane everyone is saying it is, why are we told it was something else? I don’t think America was bent on starting a war with Afghanistan (a country where we have nothing to gain, not even oil) that they would intentionally blow up 3,000 people, but I also don’t believe everything that the government allows us to hear/see/believe.

Thats the issue that I have. Why can’t we know? Why are there things that are “hidden” or “covered up” and what can that show us about the government that we are supposed to put our trust in?

Comment by Brody Harper

All good questions, Brody. I wish I knew, and I wish there weren’t cover-ups.

If it wasn’t a plane, the government should tell us, I agree. I do know that the government covers up a whole lot of things that just wouldn’t be helpful to reveal. Need to know basis, etc. And I’m sure there are many things covered that should see the light of day.

However, the media are powerful and have the freedom to pursue basically whatever story they want. I don’t believe that the New York Times and CNN, for instance, are cooperating with the government in a massive cover-up, their many flaws notwithstanding.

Whom do you trust? It’s up to you. I think you have to trust your common sense, your instincts, and even the experts until they are proven wrong.

Comment by Jordan

I miss having conversations like this with you Jordan.

I think this is when we, as Christians, can fully embrace the fact that our allegiance should not be found anywhere except for in Christ. I don’t believe there is anything in this world that humans can fully trust. I am skeptical. I’m that way a lot of the time.

I prefer the orange Lifesavers over the red ones, simply because I believe society wants us to prefer the red ones, by placing them on top. I don’t like being manipulated.

I will trust until there is question, and then I want the answer. That never happens with government and that bothers me.

I also don’t think that CNN is working with the government but have seen more than enough evidence to show that the news supports what (sorry to use this word) Liberals want us to hear. The war is bad, Bush is bad, Muslims are innocent, ect. The problem is to some degree that is true, but when was the last time you heard a news report say something that was positive about what the President is doing? There is spin to every newscast I think. CNN and other large news organizations thrive on manipulation. They tell us the things that will not cause an uproar, with fear or rebellion.

I feel like they are serving me the red ones. I don’t like that. I think that’s why I continue to search for the orange within this system.

Comment by Brody Harper

yeah i like the orange ones too.

oh and don’t forget the “liberal” agenda of the universities. that’s a fun topic too!!

hey jordan what is the name of that conservative publication that your parents used to get?

i think maybe the answer to the media question is for conservitives to support the already existing, conservitive, news sources, and create a demand for more reliable media. if we souhgt out truth instead of just listening to what’s on TV because it’s easier to get ahold of then maybe the demand will shift.

Comment by jimmy pop

Brody, I’m with you on the media’s bias. It’s blatant and frustrating. And they are trying to manipulate us.

And you’re right — we can’t trust anyone or anything totally, except God Himself and His word. We are citizens of heaven first. We have an obligation to seek truth, and to have a healthy skepticism.

James, it’s the Conservative Chronicle (www.conservativechronicle.com). It’s a weekly roundup of all the best conservative columnists. You’re right, too. We need to get our news from a variety of sources (hence a variety of perspectives), otherwise we really will be manipulated. Critical thinking is key. And the mainstream media is losing its audience, which is a good sign. People are starting to wake up.

I miss you guys, too. Keep rockin’!

Comment by Jordan




Leave a Reply

