…in case you were wondering.


Sign Here, And Here… And Here.
December 5, 2006, 1:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“I ask you to prayerfully read the brochure I have enclosed. I am praying that the Lord will speak to you to be one of 6,000 partners who will give $1,000 now or in the next ninety days to cover the remainder of the $6 million down payment for this powerful ministry tool for evangelism…

Your seed of $1,000 or more toward Dove One will reap a harvest for years. The G4SP is built to fly for decades. Imagine the harvest during all those years, and you will be a vital part of that long-term harvest!”

Open your heart to what God would have you do. For your gift of $1,000 or more, you will receive these thank-you gifts to show my appreciation:

You will receive a beautiful art-quality model of Dove One for your desk or mantle as a constant reminder that you are a vital part of this last-days harvest for souls.

Your name will be placed prominently in a special area of Dove One where I study and pray during my travels, where I will also pray for you and your family as I go around the world preaching the Gospel. Everywhere I fly, your name will travel with me, millions of miles and for years to come, reminding me that you have made it possible for me to go and preach as God has called me to do.”

For souls,
Benny Hinn

…But… but… he’s going to pray for me and my family in his luxury office, and… my name will travel with him…

(HT:CW)

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My, oh my.

I checked out his flier (pun intended) on this “need”. I quote:

“It is the only way Pastor Benny can continue to go as God directs.”

The only way? I don’t know about this “ministry tool”.

Comment by euphrony

Dude, I thought this was a parody…then I followed the link.

Unbelievable.

Brant

Comment by Anonymous

Um…
yikes.

Comment by kat

sad that people buy this junk. posted on my blog as well to pass on the info so as not to get duped.

Comment by Jeff & Katie Boian

for the sake of arguement here,

What’s the difference in giving 1000 bucks to a church building program that includes chandiliers, marble counter-tops for the bathroom, and big plantation pillars out front? Instead of getting a cute little toy you get a tax write-off in the mail?

Comment by Seth Ward

Doesn’t Smitty have his own Jet?

Comment by Seth Ward

Smitty has his own jet… that he purchased. He never asked me to buy it for him to “help his ministry”.

I see where you are going with this and to be honest I had some of the same thoughts, but I think this is a little far out there.

It’s just amazing how blatant it is.

Comment by Brody Harper

I know, I’m not trying to say that B-dog is right in asking money for the jet. I just wonder about these things. Yeah, Smitty didn’t ask for cash to pay for his own jet, but he did ask for peoople to buy his CD which is selling because of the Gospel message that is on them.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it is wrong for him to have his Jet, or whatever, but is it so different? One asks for it directly, and one sells CD’s and concert tickets to get it.

So either way, people paid for that Jet.

Actually, my church has asked for almost the same kind of committment from its people. Pledges and such for its building program.

Just thinking outloud here.

Comment by Seth Ward

When do I get to ride in the plane? If I pay for the grand pillars, I can at least regularly enjoy their magnificance. Right?

No, with the grand building I can give my input on the perceived excess. With the jet, you’re encouraging it.
Just my opinion.

Comment by euphrony

Smitty, like any other artist, writes songs that people can choose to buy, or not buy.

Within reasonable limits, the money is then his to spend at his discrection.

There’s a difference between buying a car from your own wallet (as nice or as basic as you’d like), and asking someone else to covere a ridiculously nice vehicle for your “ministry.”

I’ve played a Benny Hinn event. Its truely creepy.

Dan

Comment by Anonymous

BUUUUUUT. I think that the thing that bothers me about the Benny stuff is not the Jet or the Ministry or even asking for money for the plane. It is that he promises to pray for you if you send him cash for the Jet. It is that whole thing about paying for something spiritual. People get caught up in all that fame and want to be a part of it. Hype is the greatest money-making tool that Televangelists have.

“Send me the cash for my Plane and I’ll put your name up on a plaque on the wall of the study in my plane and every time I see your name I’ll dial up a prayer for you.”

Excuse me but what makes you think that your prayers mean more to God than say, my Grandma?

I think that we can confuse the frustration in these things. If he wants to ask for donations then fine. Churches and ministers do it all the time. Evangelists do it all the time. It takes money to run things. Just don’t make me think that it is more important than helping someone out with their electric bill or hospital bill.

Anytime you allude to selling something spiritual you are sinning in my book. “Send your money and I’ll pray for you, plus you’ll get this cool key-chain from heaven.” Bull crap. It borders on trinkets and indulgences.

I have a good friend who travels and plays with Hinn weekly and he thinks that Hinn is the real deal. Of course this friend is pretty charismatic and we have a few disagreements here and there but after I heard it from someone who is there all the time, I try not to jump to the conclusions so quickly. Even if I have some theological and fiscal/ethical/spiritual differences the ole’ Benny.

Comment by Seth Ward




Leave a Reply

