…in case you were wondering.


90 Minutes In Heaven
August 7, 2007, 9:18 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

bookcover.jpgImmediately after being killed in a car accident nearly fifteen years ago, Don Piper went to heaven. EMTs on the scene determined he had been killed instantly after a semi had swerved into his lane, crushing his car. But Piper was unaware of the chaos swirling around his body on earth – he knew only that he was surrounded by loved ones and friends, magnificent light, a sense of pure peace and the most glorious music he had ever heard.

“When I died, I didn’t flow through a long, dark tunnel. I had no sense of fading away or of coming back. I never felt my body being transported into the light. I heard no voices calling to me or anything else. Simultaneous with my last recollection of seeing the bridge and the rain, a light enveloped me, with a brilliance beyond earthly comprehension or description. Only that. In my next moment of awareness, I was standing in heaven,” writes Piper, in 90 Minutes in Heaven.

Though Piper had been pronounced dead, a Baptist preacher who had stopped to offer help began to pray for him as he lay lifeless under a tarp, still in his car. At least ninety minutes later, God answered the man’s prayers and Piper revived – taken from heaven and brought back to a world where he would spend the next several years in painful recovery from his injuries. He shares his remarkable journey in his book, 90 Minutes in Heaven.

Has anyone else read this book? What were your thoughts on it?

I think the skeptic in me is having a hard time believing that anyone could experience Heaven, and come back to Earth, but I’m still only about half-way through the book. It’s a pretty quick read, but I am having a hard time grabbing hold of everything he is saying.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Haven’t read the book, but I’m a fellow skeptic. I know that Paul talks about someone (probably himself) who was caught up to heaven. John, also, seemed to be caught up into heaven and given a revelation. So I wouldn’t say that aspect is unprecidented. However, neither time are we told they are near-death or dying/returning to life experiences; there’s where my doubt comes into play.

Comment by euphrony

I’m an extreme skeptic. Any search will bring up a ton of books just like this. My question is, how come we’ve never seen book about how some guy was “pronounced dead” and spent the next two hours in hell? (or purgatory, or a waffle house.. which is pretty much the same thing)

Comment by Daniel

Where did Lazorus spend his time in the “great beyond” before Christ raised him from the dead? Or the centurians daughter? While I am a sceptic when it comes to individual accounts of being raised from the dead, I am not a sceptic when it comes to the possibility in the abstract. Maybe those individuals who chose against God are not allowed to return (I am not sure what Daniel is refering to with his “waffle house” comment). The idea that a person would be instantly surrounded by friends, family, and “the most glorious music,” does not ring true to me. It just sounds trite and contrived, kind of like playing the harp on a cloud. But than again, I’ve never died before.

Comment by drewdown

I agree with Drew.

In the part of this book where he is describing Heaven, he says the “gate” looks like pearl, and the streets are made of gold, literal actual gold… To me it just sounds a little to simplistic. Maybe he’s right, and there is no way for us to know, but it’s hard to buy in to.

And on a side note, would golden streets be that impressive in Heaven? I mean, we aren’t going to care what the streets are made of, so why would it matter that they were made of gold? Just a thought.

Comment by brodyharper

…2 minutes in heaven is better than 1 minute in heaven…

Comment by brianseay

I would be pissed. “I’m in heaven and this is wonderful, and now I am going to spend the next several years in extreme pain. Thanks” More seriously (I haven’t read the book) but does he mention God being in heaven and was he “saved” when he died. I am also a skeptic of these types of things. It is rare that they sound like anything other than the heaven that we find on T.V. and hallmark cards.

Comment by Dos Booters

I’m a sceptic, but it doesn’t mean that he didn’t actually think he was really there. If that makes sense.

Comment by Amy

Hi there,
I found your blog through Phil Wickham a few weeks ago. I’ve never commented before, bit I figured it couldn’t hurt. Hello 🙂
My grandma told me to read this book awhile back. I never finished it because I just couldn’t quite get into it, but I’m still a little skeptical. I feel like maybe it was a dream? Or something similar. But, like Amy said, maybe he was just convinced. I’m with Drew–the part where he meets all his family at the gates threw me off.

Comment by Lindsey

i am selling this book like crazy at the minute, getting loads of feedback for and against it!! I also am sceptical…………do you believe there are people out there who dramatise their experience for whatever reason, especially in the “christian” industry?
I sometimes hear about stuff like this and my first thought is “oh yea what a trump card to play, people will suck this up”…………i feel bad for thinking that but honesty is good right?
anyway, Don knows & God knows so…………………

Comment by ally




Leave a Reply

