…in case you were wondering.


Orthorexia Nervosa
August 11, 2007, 12:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

heartleaf.jpgA new type of eating disorder is emerging where people are becoming obsessed with eating to improve their health. According to the Swiss Food Association, this new wave of nutritional obsession, known as ‘Orthorexia’ or ‘Orthorexia nervosa’, from the Greek “orthos” meaning right and correct, and “orexis” meaning appetite, is reaching worrying proportions.

In a quest to cure themselves of a specific disorder, or simply just taking healthy eating to extremes, orthorexics develop their own increasingly specific food rules. Working out how to stick to their self-imposed dietary regimen takes up more and more of their time and they are compelled to plan meals several days ahead. They tend to take a ‘survival kit’ of their own food with them when they go out, as they cannot eat readily available foods for fear of fat, chemicals or whatever their particular phobia might be.

Sticking to their regimen takes strong willpower and they feel self-righteous and superior to people who do not have such self-control.

“Someone whose days are filled with eating tofu and quinoa biscuits can feel as saintly as if they had devoted their whole life to helping the homeless” states Dr. Steve Bratman, the man who initially described orthorexia back in 1997. MedicalNewsToday.com

Read More of what Shaun and I have been talking about for the last two hours.

Obviously I don’t believe everything that some guy has to say about a “made up” disorder, but I do believe there is some validity to it. There are too many things in this life that can cause distance to people that we are called to love.

I believe, it doesn’t matter if it’s a diet, affluence, poverty, or religious belief, if it becomes something where you treat people poorly, or lower than you, it is a problem.

“…And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity”
Colossians 3:14

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

And part of what we’ve talked about is the “test” given on the site Brody linked to. The “test” is a series of questions that determine whether or not you have this disorder (not accepted as a disorder, btw, by the medical community at large yet).

Check out the questions and then tell us what you think. We’re curious. Are we the only ones thinking what we’re thinking?

Comment by shaungroves

I think that about 2/3 of people in america would be considered to have this “disorder” if they looked at that “test.” I would say that some people probably do take eating healthy too far, and there are those should take it a lot more seriously. However, that “test” made this whole thing seem like a stupid ploy to get his name in the paper.

Comment by booters

That’s too funny. I don’t have the disorder, thank God, but I used to back in my vegan days. Incidentally, being vegan also gave me a vitamin B deficiency and anemia even WITH required daily supplements of B and iron. I feel better when I eat organic, but I also feel better when I enjoy a meal.

BTW, thanks for stopping by my site, Brody.

Comment by Sarah Chia

I do not know how many calories is too many, or what the positive or negative reperucussions of eating this or that may be. My philosophy is “everything in moderation.” If I am hungry, I eat; if I am not, I don’t (unless I am bored…which is not often enoguh); when I am full, I stop. In 1 Corinthians 9 and 10 Paul talks about being “all things to all men” that others may come to know of Jesus’ saving garce. He even specifically mentions eating “anything that is set before you.” I have never been on a mission trip that would require me to eat something that I know I would not like, but since I have an intense gag reflex I worry about offending someone when that day comes (refusal of certain foods in some cultures is very offensive). With that thought in mind, what happens when those with such strict self-imposed diets as discussed above are called out or put in a situation where they cannot have what their body now relies on, or cannot/will not take in that which is being asked of them? “Whather, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God…not seeking my own profit but the profit of the many, so that they may be saved.” I have read many interesting arguments on this subject and could easily continue on…but I am hungry and am going to go make dinner. Good topic.

Comment by livngfragrance

Whenever I diet, I suddenly become obsessed with what I’m eating. It takes a changing of the mind and habits. However, I could totally see someone taking this to an extreme, most eating disorders are about control, and that’s what this seems to be.

Comment by Amy

Love above all: Love your God. Love the people around you. Love yourself (the body God gave you). Three dimensions of love – that’s balance.. None of those dimensions should have to suffer in order to be healthy spiritually, relationally and physically.

Comment by shaungroves




Leave a Reply

