…in case you were wondering.


Is This Your Church?
August 12, 2007, 4:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

_mg_2088.jpg

“A son honors his father, and a servant his master. If I am a father, where is the honor due me? If I am a master, where is the respect due me?” says the LORD Almighty.

“It is you, O priests, who show contempt for my name.

“But you ask, ‘How have we shown contempt for your name?’

“You place defiled food on my altar.”

“But you ask, ‘How have we defiled you?’

“By saying that the LORD’s table is contemptible. When you bring blind animals for sacrifice, is that not wrong? When you sacrifice crippled or diseased animals, is that not wrong? Try offering them to your governor! Would he be pleased with you? Would he accept you?” says the LORD Almighty.

“Now implore God to be gracious to us. With such offerings from your hands, will he accept you?”-says the LORD Almighty.

“Oh, that one of you would shut the temple doors, so that you would not light useless fires on my altar! I am not pleased with you,” says the LORD Almighty, “and I will accept no offering from your hands.

Malachi 1:6-10

Today Francis Chan, who happens to be an amazing speaker and pastor, challenged me and a rural church in Arkansas to bring God their best. He challenged us not to simply live a life of mediocrity, and stop bringing our useless crap to the “alter” of the God that created us. Pretty powerful stuff.

I wonder what it is that I am offering God in my life.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Did you guys get to hear him. I have been listening to him on line lately. He is absolutely incredible.

Comment by Steven Russell

He spoke at the thing Shaun did last night with Charlie Hall. Then he spoke again this morning at the church we were at. He’s an amazing teacher, and a really nice guy. One of my favorites now.

Comment by brodyharper

Ack I heard Francis in Challenge last year in Purdue. He’s great. And he’s hilarious.

He’s one of my favorites. I’m so looking foward to hearing him again next year in Utah.

Comment by Raquel :D

dude, i hung out with Francis at an event we played at. he’s such a freaking cool guy. with amazing things to say. what a convicting passage of scripture. thanks for sharing that. good for me to hear tonight.

Comment by aaronivey.com




Leave a Reply

