…in case you were wondering.


The Bayou
August 19, 2007, 11:23 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

bayou.jpg

I don’t really know why, but for some reason I have always had a weird fascination with the swamp lands of Louisiana. Maybe it’s because there is something mysterious about what is under that creepy water. Maybe it’s because I watched too many nature shows growing up. But there is something that makes me want to go exploring down there.

I want to be on one of those flat boats with the fan on the back, I want to creep through spaces barely big enough for that boat to get through. I want to see crocodiles up close, feel totally out of place, and I want to hang out on an old rickety porch, drink some homemade beer and listen to someone play banjo and a washboard.

I have been to Louisiana before and even driven on roads that looked surrounded in swamps, but it just made me want to get out of the car and slush around in it. I don’t know anyone that lives on a swamp land, but if anyone has some suggestions about the coolest, most mysterious Bayou experience, let me know and I will put it on my list. Someday, I will make it down there and try not to get eaten by something bigger than me.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Not sure about Louisiana, but check out the Everglades National Park in Florida. You’ll be very close to there when you and Shaun are in West Palm or Okechobee. They offer many airboat (the boats with the fans on the back) tours and gators abound there. If you’d like to fish in the Keys, let me know and I’ll get you booked with the best backcountry guide in the world!

Beth

Comment by Beth

[…] mentioned the other day that I wanted to go into a swamp and see some alligators. Well, today I am going to. Shaun has to […]

Pingback by …in case you were wondering.




Leave a Reply

