…in case you were wondering.


Saying Goodbye
October 2, 2007, 6:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

empty_chairs.jpgI’ve traveled a lot this year. I’m coming off of twenty-eight shows in two months, and now I am sitting at the airport heading out again. This time for longer. It will be for twenty-seven days straight. Normally I wouldn’t choose to do this but this year it seemed to work out well, and will enable me to have half of November and the entire month of December off. That’s the only reason to do this. It will be good tour with Phil, but walking away from the car after being dropped off was brutal.

I hate saying goodbye to my wife, and my kids. My five year old has started to say, “Daddy, I don’t want you to go”, while the other two don’t seem to care much. I know there are several people reading this that know what it’s like to be away from your family for extended periods of time, so I would ask you all to give a few prayers for the health and safety of my family. Also that the kids don’t drive my wife too nuts.

I am glad that there are plenty of friends and neighbors around that Kristin can lean on and that will check in on her frequently, but it still doesn’t make leaving easy.

I appreciate the prayers, and will be sure to blog from the road.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You know I have your back in prayer atleast.

Comment by Shawn Bashor

dude… this is a LONG time… anything we can do for your family while you’re gone? let me know dude. also, i bought my beard at Walgreens… $5.99

Comment by aaronivey.com

Dad and I are very excited to be with Kristin next week. We will miss seeing you, but very grateful to be there for her and the boys. We will try and make it an easy time for her to relax. We love you all. Be safe, son. You are always in our prayers.
Love, Mom

Comment by Barb

Brody,
Been there, done that, on both sides of the coin. I left Scott and then 10 month old Alex to deploy for the first Gulf war. I was gone 6 weeks for that one. Scott’s been gone several times for 4 months or longer. It is never easy. Know that you and your family will be prayed for daily. Even though we’re not geographically close, we’re still here for you, Kristin and the boys if any of you EVER need anything! A listening ear is always available.

Beth

Comment by Beth

I am praying for you and your family! Looking forward to catching up in November!

Comment by Tracy

I’ll certainly be praying for you, Kristin and the kiddos.

You probably already know this, but just in case you don’t…Skype is awesome for video chatting (iChat works too).

Comment by Kat

Before you know it, Brody, you’ll be home again. And you’re right; it’ll be worth it to get all that time at home in a couple of months!

My family gives me the “Please don’t go” bit even when I’m only leaving for a few days! And that’s hard for me. I can’t imagine being gone nearly a month. Sounds like your family will be well taken care of, though. And at least there’s always the phone!

Comment by Annie

Will do buddy.

Comment by Seth Ward




Leave a Reply

