…in case you were wondering.


The First Day Of 30
November 28, 2007, 8:30 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

erin_birthday.jpgMy sister turned thirty yesterday. Thirty. I bet she is weirded out by being thirty today. I think I might be. Today is her first official day of being thirty.

Thirty is a milestone for some reason. I have heard so many times people say “I want to do this by the time I am thirty.” or “When I am thirty I want to have seen this.”. I have a few of those things too, but for the most part I think I am pretty excited about it. I don’t know why but there is something exciting about reaching a real “grown up” age. Where things are “figured out” and your adult life is well underway. Of corse that may change on my first day of being thirty.

Anyway, Happy Birthday Older (as in “now in your thirties”) Sister.

For those readers out there that have crossed the thirty line, what changed when you did, if anything? For those under thirty, what do you expect to happen by the time you reach that day?

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy Birthday, Erin!

Brody, I think you have it right. I turned thirty last year, and at that time several of my coworkers/friends in their fifties shared with me that their thirties were the most fun years. You’re less focused on “figuring things out” and a little more free to enjoy and appreciate life. So, I went into it with a very positive outlook, no matter how hard my husband TRIED to tease me about being old!

Comment by annie

Praise God for another year to your life and H-a-p-p-y, H-a-p-p-y, B-i-r-t-h-d-a-y Erin!

Hi Brody, per what I expect, I will let our good Lord surprise me!

Comment by Kelly

30 comes in about 7.5 years for me. I hope to have accomplished my master’s degree in journalism or writing/publishing. I would like to have at least lived in Nashville by then, if not overseas. And, if possible, to have gotten married and (maybe) started a family/adopted a kid or two.

Interesting to think ahead like that. I’m still in the “figuring things out” stage. It fascinates me that I have all these crazy options.

Comment by Rachel

Wow, that hits home a bit…in a little more than two weeks I am turning 29. Being single and in youth ministry, the teens I mentor like to make jokes about my age. They claimed recently that at my 30th birthday party they will all dress up as “older people” wearing white wigs, etc.

I laugh about it, but sometimes it’s so weird. Both of my YOUNGER brothers are married and one of ’em has two kids. I actually feel very young because of the youthful life I am living right now, but my age “tells me” I should have accomplished more. I don’t listen. LOL.

Comment by Andria

i turned 30 a month ago…………….ahh i kinda had a few moments of freaking out, mildly i might add! Its cool though, still the same “old” me eh!!!! haha

Comment by ally simpson

I haven’t the faintest idea what I will have done, seen, experienced, etc…before I turn thirty (I still have a few years to go…for those of you who know my age, try not to laugh too hard). Kind of like the dreaming “kid sized dreams,” there are definately things I hope to have done, but I have no idea what my life will look like tomorrow night. I am fixing my eyes on Jesus, and He has taught me that the best thing to be in that position is ready and willing for whatever path He may lead me down next. This life is an exciting one, is it not? All the more when lived by faith (what little I have) in Jesus.

Comment by Molly Ranae

When I hit my thirties the main thing I noticed was I was in this place where I could not judge peoples ages. People I thought were like mid forties were really in their late thirties. And then kids in my youth groups that I thought were seventeen were really fourteen. Weird.
Anyways, happy birthday Brody’s thirty year old siter!
Shalom.

Comment by P.D. Ross

Maybe i meant to say sister.
Yep, I did.

Comment by P.D. Ross

The day I turned thirty I rolled out of bed and pulled something in my back. Seriously. It started that morning, the aging process was suddenly very noticeable. After thirty I can pull the skin around my eye down, release, and count to three before it all slides back into place. It’s a fast three, but it’s three.

By thirty I thought I’d stop making the same mistakes. I don’t make them as often but I still make them. I haven’t arrived and I hoped I would by now. Don’t think we ever do.

I need to go do a facial mask or something…

Happy Birthday, Erin.

Comment by shaungroves

Thank you Brody!! Thirty has been good so far I guess…as well as can be expected in the last 24 hours or so…I love you very much and in 1 year and 14 months you are lookin at the same thing bud!! Love you

Comment by Erin

your sister is a lot cleaner looking than you, brody.

Comment by jeff

Hey Erin! Happy happy 30th! I know it was a few days ago, but I hope you are still enjoying your new age bracket! I’ve been here for 2 (almost 3) years and like Annie, have loved it!
Much love,
Stephanie (Rowan) Rhoades

Comment by Rowan




Leave a Reply

